Cornwall’s MPs will vote this morning for their choice to be next Tory Party leader

Posted By on 13th June 2019

By Graham Smith

Cornwall’s six Members of Parliament will be asked to vote this morning (Thursday) in the first round of the election for the next Conservative Party leadership.  Voting is due to take place between 10am and 12 noon, with the results announced soon after.

Each of the candidates will need at least 16 votes – 5% of the total – to survive to the next round.

St Ives MP Derek Thomas appears the most likely to need a new champion, as his preferred candidate, Andrea Leadsom, currently has only four declared supporters.

North Cornwall MP Scott Mann, and St Austell & Newquay MP Steve Double, could also find that their votes are in demand elsewhere in the second round.  Their first round hero, Mark Harper, has only eight declared supporters.

Camborne & Redruth MP George Eustice is backing Michael Gove – who has 34 declared supporters – while South East Cornwall MP Sheryll Murray is backing the favourite, Boris Johnson, who has 79.

Truro & Falmouth MP Sarah Newton has not declared her preference for the first round of voting, having lost her initial favourite, Kit Malthouse, even before nominations opened.

The 2nd, 3rd and 4th rounds of voting are scheduled for next week – until only two candidates remain, who will then tour the country, looking for votes from individual Conservative Party members.  A winner, who will be Prime Minister, is expected in mid-July.